Archive for the ‘News’ Category

Fifth Stars album set for June 22 launch

Canadian indie rockers Stars are prepping their fifth full-length effort, The Five Ghosts, for release on their new imprint label, Soft Revolution Records. The Five Ghosts is their first release since their most recent release, In Our Bedroom After the War, which hit shelves in 2005.

The Five Ghosts was recorded in Montreal and features writing from all five members of the group: Amy Millan, Evan Cranley, Torquil Campbell, Patty McGee, and Chris Seligman. A U.S. tour is being planned for Summer 2010.


Latest from Aloha, Home Acres, blasts indie prog into perspective

The latest effort from American indie outfit Aloha is bold and refreshing: While not necessarily the pinnacle of progressive indie rock from Aloha, it’s 1) something new, and 2) something good. How many other indie rock bands are out using marimbas and bells? Home Acres features plenty of their musical trademark, but we get some delicious additions. The guitars are  magnanimous in their distorted quality, and I think at one point, we may hear an idiophone with gourds — maybe the balafon — resonating and buzzing away. Home Acres hits shelves tomorrow.

Purchase Home Acres

Mark Linkous, Sparklehorse leader, commits suicide, leaves musical legacy

Mark Linkous, leader of rock group Sparklehorse, committed suicide yesterday in Knoxville, Tenn. He leaves a musical legacy that spans four full-length albums as Sparklehorse and two in collaboration with Danger Mouse and Fennesz. Linkous also worked as a producer, notably with outsider music favorite Daniel Johnston. Share your thoughts on the death of Linkous below.

Groovefest lineup promises musical surprises

The Packway Handle Band at Groovefest 2007 / Matthew Montgomery

After a multitude of revisions by Tim and Lisa Cretsinger, the lineup for the 2010 Groovefest American Music Festival has been released. Tim and Lisa own Groovacious Records in Cedar City, Utah, and have been organizing Groovefest for nine years. Groovefest is free to the public, and the main event — two full days of music — will take place at the Cedar City Main Street Park on June 25 and 26. Further events are being planned from Wednesday, June 23 to Sunday, June 27.

Friday, June 25

  • 1:00 – 1:45 John Sotter
  • 2:00 – 2:45 Molly Venter
  • 3:00 – 4:00 Kort McCumber Band
  • 4:15 – 5:15 Karling Abbeygate
  • 5:30 – 6:30 Oakhurst
  • 6:45 – 7:45 John Lisi & Delta Funk
  • 8:00 – 9:15 Great American Taxi
  • 9:30 – 11:00 Traveler

Saturday, June 26

  • 11:30 – 12:15 John Batdorf
  • 12:30 – 1:15 Joe Baker & His Barefoot Brakemen
  • 1:30 – 2:30 The Gabrielle Louise Show
  • 2:45 – 3:45 Trevor Green
  • 4:00 – 5:00 The Henhouse Prowlers
  • 5:15 – 6:15 Chris Laterzo & Buffalo Robe
  • 6:30 – 7:30 The New Familiars
  • 7:45 – 9:15 The Scott Holt Band
  • 9:30 – 11:00 Lubriphonic

David Lynch, Danger Mouse, Sparklehorse project rumored for summer release

Dark Night of the Soul is an album written by Danger Mouse and Sparklehorse that was planned for release with a book of photos by David Lynch. The book of photos was released in early 2009. Due to disputes with the record label, though, the album was not released with the book of photos — instead a blank CD-R labeled: “For legal reasons, enclosed CD-R contains no music. Use it as you will.”

The album is now rumored for release for Summer 2010. From what we’ve heard of the album so far, this is nothing like the Broken Bells collaboration of Danger Mouse and James Mercer. It has a dark, surreal feeling — full of complex layers of mind-bending sounds and faraway vocals, all quite fitting for a David Lynch art project.

The album features a wide range of artists, including James Mercer, The Flaming Lips, Gruff Rhys of Super Furry Animals, Jason Lytle of Grandaddy, Julian Casablancas of The Strokes, Frank Black of the Pixies, Iggy Pop, Nina Persson of The Cardigans, Suzanne Vega, Vic Chesnutt, David Lynch, Scott Spillane of Neutral Milk Hotel and The Gerbils. (NPR)

The book, Dark Night of the Soul is available for purchase on their official website, You can also listen to the entire album at

Minus the Bear debut track “My Time” for their upcoming album

Minus the Bear

Today Minus the Bear have premiered “My Time,” the first track from their upcoming album, Omni, due May 4, 2010. Immediately noticeable is the lack of guitar playing from Dave Knudson which we hear none of on the first track. Instead, Knudson has integrated a new instrument into their arrangement: the Omnichord. With the introduction of the Omnichord and lack of guitar, Knudson brings a much stronger pop sound to the track than ever before. We’re unsure of what to expect for the rest of the album, but it is likely that we will still hear the guitar on the other tracks based on Dave Knudson’s chat with Spinner.

Minus the Bear will be performing songs from their new album at SXSW Music Festival, as well as Sasquatch! Music Festival. They will also begin their tour starting in April. Tour dates have yet to be announced, but you can keep an eye out for updates on their website,

Red Sparowes announce tour, release album preview

Red Sparowes

Red Sparowes, Los Angeles post-rock (or, if you will, post-metal) group, have announced plans to set out on tour at the end of March through the first half of May in support of their forthcoming release, The Fear is Excruciating, But Therein Lies the Answer, set to be released April 6, 2010.


Red Sparowes — “Giving Birth To Imagined Saviors,” from The Fear is Excruciating, But Therein Lies the Answer


In anticipation of their third album, the band has released “Giving Birth to Imagined Saviors” for public consumption. Featuring a more nuanced approach than their previous efforts — but lacking none of the bombastic fervor they’ve set out as their own, the latest effort from Red Sparowes is one to watch for.


Symphony of Science debuts “The Poetry of Reality,” latest in science mashup series

Symphony of Science, the brainchild of electronica musician John Boswell, has released the latest entry in a series of inspiring and geeky music videos: “The Poetry of Reality,” the fifth video in the series, describes the simultaneous beauty and utility of scientific inquiry through snippets from figureheads of science and skepticism.

The Symphony of Science — “The Poetry of Reality” | download
[audio:|titles=Symphony of Science – The Poetry of Reality]

The video includes lectures and interviews from the widely known — Carl Sagan, Richard Feynman, Stephen Hawking — to some known in more specific circles — PZ Meyers, Brian Greene, Carolyn Porco, Michael Shermer — and represents an engaging cross-section of figures of science advocacy.

Musically, “The Poetry of Reality” is perhaps the strongest piece since the first video, “A Glorious Dawn.” If the Symphony of Science is successful in spreading its very important message, it will be to the benefit of humanity as a whole.